I am reading a great book…a real eye opener and thought provoking text on the issues of power and teaching methodology. It is refreshing to read a black teacher tell it like it is about issues of CODE, POWER, and fear of being perceived as authoritarian when a white teacher is teaching black kids. It is a relief to know that I am not off my rocker to think that if I do in as a soft spoken “well what should we do today” kind of teacher that everything will fall to hell. One of the most interesting issues that the author brings up is how WMC students and BLC students perceive authority and who it belongs to in very different ways;therefore it only makes common sense that it needs to be conveyed differently in different settings WMC- you are a teacher and that in itself gives you power;BWC- you gotta earn your status as the authority by the way in which you ACT and COMMAND that students will behave, that they will and can learn, and By God you are going to push them, and show them (Skills or Process) how to do it!

Codes- got know or teach the code that allows for succes

gotta acknowledge that their is indeed a code and by not teaching it we are doing our students a grave disservice.

 

About sheilab4

I am in my last leg of earning my Ed. S in Language and Literacy at the University of Georgia. It has been an amazing ride...I feel as though I have received a whole new perspective...on me and about education. I am eternally grateful to my professors for shining a light on so many issues that are inherent in education yet are rarely spoken about...culture, class, and agency. What we teach, and how we teach what we teach truly are at the heart of what impact and influence we have on our students. I look forward to continuing my journey toward becoming an enlightened and engaged educator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

